If managed poorly, mining can lead to environmental degradation, displaced populations and increased conflict

Alumni Awards North-West University Excellence Award Ceremony 2016

Alumni Awards North-West University Excellence Award Ceremony 2016.

The NWU is proud of it's alumni and has again decided to publicly recognise them for their personal and career achievements and for exemplary contributions to society.

The achievements of the alumni are just one of the ways of showcasing the excellence of the NWU. The NWU is priviledged to boast such a distinguished stakeholder group.

Our exceptional alumni for research excellence - Dr Tanya Tanya Robinson.

NWU honors the cream of his crop

On Friday, October 7, 2016, the NWU honors its top alumni at an award ceremony in Sandton. This year's prestigious award ceremony also included the prestigious NWU Lifetime Achievement Award and acknowledgment of the NWU's alumni who have excelled this year at international sport.


The prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award went to former Vice-Chancellor of the NWU, Dr Theuns Eloff, who completed his BJur Economics degree at the Potchefstroom University for Christian Higher Education in 1972. This is the second time that this prestigious award as recognition is given. The last recipient was former President FW de Klerk.

Another well-known alumni who received awards include a Judge President, a television boss, a world-renowned tenor, respected researchers, an executive head of public affairs, and an international waterponie- (jet ski) racing.

Alumni winners

Dr Theuns Eloff , former Vice-Chancellor of the NWU, and current executive director of the FW de Klerk Foundation Lifetime Achievement Award.

Mr Kobie van Rensburg , musiekvirtuoos and head of Umculo Opera Incubator, Arts and Culture Award.

Karen Meiring , director of the Afrikaans channels at M-Net and KykNet, Business Leadership Award.

Ms Yvonne Mfolo CEO for public affairs at Kumba Iron Ore, Community Involvement Award.

Judge Frans Kgomo , Judge President of the Northern Cape, Public Service Award.

Dr. Tanya Robinson , phenomenal researcher Research Award.

Ms Shante Bukes , international jet-ski racing Sports Award.

Prof. Llewellyn van Zyl , researcher and an industrial psychologist, Young Alumnus Award.

Alumni of the NWU stage for years deep scars - not only in South Africa, but also internationally. 2016 is the fourth year that NWU alumni honored with achievement awards.


Semenya and Sunette Viljoen, who made the podium at the Olympic Games, the NWU Ambassador awards. Willem Coetzer, Elroy Gelant, Terseus Liebenberg and Jean Verster received as stars in their sport disciplines Ambassador certificates.

View article on North-West Univeristy website here or on the social media links​​​​​​​